pepperoni pizza bread

Snow Day!

Which, in my crazy life, just means that I get a day to do things that normal people do on a regular basis. Like cook ūüôā

I had a couple recipes up my sleeve that I had been wanting to try out, so I took the opportunity. The first of these was a spinach dip, and the second was this pizza bread.

I’ll be honest:¬†I had no idea what I was doing when I made this one up.
But I have had it at a lot of parties with friends, and it’s always awesome…

This is kind of a quick-and-dirty, I-have-no-desire-to-make-dough, version.

IMG_4205

Ingredients

  • 1 large french baguette
  • 1/3 cup of butter
  • 1 – 2 cloves of garlic (depends on how much you like garlic)
  • Small jar of pizza sauce (you won’t even use it all)
  • Mozzarella Cheese
  • 5 oz. pepperoni
  • Fresh parsley (optional)
  • Dried oregano (optional)

 

1. Slice the baguette into small pieces.

I didn’t get out a measuring stick of anything, but I would say that these are about 1/2 inch wide. The thinner the better…but not too thin, or else they’ll be flimsy and mushy.

2. Melt butter (with garlic)

I absolutely despise mincing garlic, so I used the stuff out of a jar. But, as always, fresh tastes better…so if you don’t have an aversion to the task, I recommend starting from scratch.

Just slowly melt the 1/3 cup of butter in the microwave and add the garlic…Then stir!

3. Brush Garlic-Butter on Both Sides of Baguette Slices

IMG_4186

 

Don’t drown the bread or anything – just lightly brush each side.

Also, don’t use¬†all of the butter. You’ll need some later in the recipe.

 

 

4. Add Toppings to Each Piece of Bread

IMG_4188

First, put just a drop of sauce on each piece.

Again – not drowning the bread in pizza sauce!

You know those annoying sour cream commercials back in the day? “Do a dollop of Daisy…”

Well, just do a dollop of pizza sauce.

IMG_4189

 

 

The next step is the cheese.

I love cheese, so I put as much as possible.

Use your discretion.

 

IMG_4190

 

 

 

Finally, add the pepperoni.

 

 

 

5.¬†Make “Stacks” & Put Stacks in the Pan

Whether you think this is self-explanatory, or you think it’s super hard, you’re wrong.

It’s not super difficult, but it does take some finesse.

Make small stacks and place them in the dish –
you may have to add pieces to the stacks to make them fight “tightly”.

Then, do the same thing across the pan until it’s full.

This may require some squishing. That’s totally fine. Squish away.

6. Cover with Foil and Bake

First, brush the remaining garlic butter over the top of the dish. Then cover.

Bake until the visible cheese has melted – in my oven, that was about 20 minutes.

7. Remove Foil, Sprinkle with Oregano & Parsley

img_4194

It doesn’t take much, and it’s not necessary, but sprinkling the fresh parsley really dresses up this otherwise super-simple dish.

And it smells good.

8. Bake for another 10 Р15 minutes, or until the top looks brown and crunchy.

 

And that’s it! Pull apart pieces of the bread and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

